Surfrider Foundation Australia is a registered not for profit sea-roots organisation dedicated to the protection of Australia’s waves and beaches through Conservation, Activism, Research and Education or C.A.R.E.

Our Purpose is to protect oceans, waves and beaches through C.A.R.E.  

Our Mission & Vision is to inspire an engaged surfing and coastal community who are passionate about protecting oceans, waves and beaches.

A little over 30 years ago, three passionate surfers in Malibu, California, found out that their favorite wave was about to be destroyed. Those three people worked with their local community and Government until they were satisfied that their iconic wave would be preserved. This was the genesis of Surfrider Foundation USA, which sparked a global movement of surfers and ocean enthusiasts to stand up for their coasts and local marine environments. 

Today, the Surfrider Foundation movement has grown to 18 countries around the world.

Surfrider Foundation Australia (SFA) was founded in 1991, largely in response to poor water quality issues along Australia's east coast. Local surfers, being at the forefront of water quality, began recruiting volunteers for a series of demonstrations and actions to persuade decision makers to take action on this ongoing issue. The group has been working hard to protect Australia’s coastlines ever since. 

Since its humble beginnings and as we approach our 29th year of operation, SFA has grown to over 18 volunteer branches and many more volunteer beach representatives tackling local and national coastal environmental issues at a sea-roots level around Australia. 

With times of uncertainty, it hasn’t been easy. There’s still a lot of work to be done. Our work is critical. And our long-term success and growth is a tribute to our founders’ vision: that taking on an environmental battle may not be easy, but with constant pressure, endlessly applied, it can, and will, be won. The key to this is what makes our organisation unique.

Life Members 'Honour Roll'

Brad Farmer  Adam Bennett-Smith  Angus Watt  Barnaby Hurrell  Barry Steele  Brendan Donohoe  Brett Davis  Chris Tola  Clayton James  Craig McGregor  David Minnears  David Oitmaa  Dean Morrison  Eddie Mercuri  Ellis Cooper  Glen Neilsen Gordon Merchant  Joanne Cooper  Joel Parkinson  Mark Haynes  Matt Butel  Mick Fanning  Murray Turner  Paul Maddock  Paul Steinmann  Rex Campbell  Richard Finlay Jones  Robert Hughes  Stephanie Gilmore  Stephen Hawker  Steve Perry  Victor TilleyWendy Harmer  Greg Howell  Bruce Thom  Tom Kirsop  Michael Legge-Wilkinson  Bob Moffatt  John Foss  Stuart Ball